Orchestre Poly-Rythmo Return With ‘Cotonou Club’

The band’s first new album in over 20 years, recorded in Paris

Orchestre Poly-Rythmo are national institutions in Benin, West Africa. Formed during the late’60s, they documented the years following Benin’s independence under Kerekou’s Leninist – Marxist regime, whipping up a groundbreaking fusion of traditional highlife, Afrobeat, soul, funk and the indigenous styles and voodoo-led traditions of their homeland.

[soundcloud url=”http://api.soundcloud.com/tracks/11761765″ params=”show_comments=true&auto_play=false&color=ff7700″ width=”100%” height=”81″ ]

Recorded in Paris and produced by Maillot, ‘Cotonou Club’ is the band’s first new album in over 20 years, a celebration of the Poly-Rythmo sound with both new compositions and new versions of the band’s classics, including massive West African hit ‘Gbeti Madjro’. Guest appearances include African superstar Angelique Kidjo, who began her career in Poly-Rythmo’s backyard, new World Circuit signing Fatoumata Diawara and Paul Thomson and Nick McCarthy from indie favourites Franz Ferdinand.

[youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XGdbhAFy0MI] [youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Owr8q9zhR7c] [youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5gNdJD6Jy24]

Official Website


01 Ne te fâche pas
02 Pardon
03 Von Vo Nono
04 Koumi Dédé
05 Gbeti Madjro featuring Angélique Kidjo
06 Océ
07 Tegbé
08 C’est lui ou c’est moi featuring Fatoumata Diawara
09 Holonon
10 Ma vie
11 Lion is Burning

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *